I am looking back over and over and over in my mind and through boxes of cards I have gotten over the years and not one card says this is it time to grow up. Time to lose all the things that bring you comfort. Bye bye to your sippy cup, no more sucking your thumb, you are officially too old to be tucked in at night.  I wasn't ever too young to be taken pieces from my soul as a small child, in Strawberry Shortcake Jammies. Then as an adult I would be looked at as a freak for living in a 34 year old body and owing a sippy cup, using the excuse when in view, "oh yeah, a friend left that here the other day when visiting." I only take comfort now in the things I was deprived of as a child, either through not having it or not having enough of it. It's no different then someone who sleeps 6pm - 2am or 3am - 11am, still both get 8 hours. So why in my life that has got to be my own and life is for living for the things I want out of it. So why am I judged for getting the things now as an adult to feel good that I should have had as a child....go ahead send the card, judge me, whatever you like, cause your view of who I am has changed with facts, but the reality, I am still who I was yesterday, I did nothing wrong, just got a little more braver....



Leave a Reply.